INTRODUCTION TO PHOTOGRAPHY (WEEK 6)

Week 6, 28.02.2017


 

STREET_PHOTOGRAPHY_ASSIGNMENT_2

The day we ventured around Kuala Lumpur. The day we were soaked in sweat. The day when everything was just good.

 

_dsc0727

Aperture: f/10

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

I like that the traffic light stands out due to its contrast when compared with the background. Actually, I was sitting beside the pedestrian crosswalk attempting to capture the shot at a different angle. It didn’t matter about the fact that drivers and pedestrians looked at me as if I was insane. However, I think I was.

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/10

Shutter speed: 1/200

ISO: 100

I was waiting for this man to walk by so I could capture his movement. However, I increased the shutter speed because I wanted to avoid the slow motions of his feet. The plain wall as the background is a bonus, giving it its minimal effect.

_dsc0884

Aperture: f/9

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 400

I was playing around with the contrast of the lighting shone onto the pillars.

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/6.3

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 500

I like the contrast in the corridor, making the man sitting on the chair my subject. Also, I like how the area looks messy and the photo gives a sort of dramatic vibe.

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/13

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

I genuinely fancy this picture because it was unpremeditated. Before I could walk any further into the neighbourhood, I looked right up and noticed a man staring into the distance out of curiosity.

 

_dsc0864

Aperture: f/7.1

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

Honestly, this photo hurts the heart because this blind man who was selling tissues resembles my grandfather. Right at this moment after staring at this picture, it brought back so many memories I had with him before he passed away. I guess you can say that this is rather personal.

 

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/11

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 500

I like this particular photo for the composition of the man and I was able to capture him flipping through the pages of a Chinese newspaper.

 

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/18

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

I’m fascinated by the light reflected on the side of his face and that he was staring into my camera. Moreover, the surrounding looks picturesque as the wordings behind add a final touch to this photo. Without it, it would look incomplete.

 

img_20170228_165533_114

Aperture: f/13

Shutter speed: 1/160

ISO: 100

I like that there are 3 windows for each of the 3 sections in this building and the 3 passersby. It is as if each passerby belongs to one of the units. Furthermore, I really like the composition of this photo.

 

_dsc0988

Aperture: f/13

Shutter speed: 1/160

ISO: 100

As I was walking down the pavement, I encountered a phone booth and thought of capturing a shot of the phone hanging at an elevated angle. As I did so, I acknowledged that the shattered part of the phone echos the missing concrete tile and the old architecture in the background.


 

“Remember when I mentioned my aversion of an assignment from a couple of weeks ago? This week’s outing was rather enjoyable despite the scorching hot sun rays piercing into my skin and soaking in a pool of sweat. In this week’s lesson, I’ve learned to get accustomed to altering my manual settings quickly, mostly because I did not want to miss out on spontaneous moments. To my surprise, the citizens were really friendly and eager to have their photos taken. Through this experience, I learned to step out of my comfort zone and I can’t wait to discover what was meant for me to grow as a photographer.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

