INTRODUCTION TO PHOTOGRAPHY (WEEK 5_PART 2)

Week 5, 22.02.2017


 

DSLR_EXPOSURE_PART_2

 

Mr. Martin decided to take our second practice on exposure outside and this time, it involved the general public.

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/5.6

Shutter speed: 1/80

ISO: 400

This was taken in a dark art studio which led me to increasing the ISO to 400. The background is actually overexposed but the subject still looks dark. I decided to stay at this setting because I wanted to show her confused facial expression in a moody manner.

 

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/14

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

Actually, I was fascinated by the fact that they met up at one point from opposite ends before walking to the lakeside together, side by side. This is a shot of these two geese on the verge of submerging themselves into the lake with the commercial block being reflected on the water.

 

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/3.8

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 400

Long story short, I captured this photo of a woman who works at a laundry service centre. I decided to pick her as my subject because this was the place where our friendship commenced and it means a lot to me.


 

“Personally, I was uncomfortable with and I did not fancy this particular practice because I had to take photos where the crowd was at. From a traumatic experience of taking shots of people in public and getting screamed at afterwards, I was hesitant with every image taken at the commercial block. That explains my representation of my comfort circle in the photos. Hopefully, I’ll be able to overcome my fear of the public because I desire exploring photography outside of my comfort zone.”

Leave a Reply

