INTRODUCTION TO PHOTOGRAPHY (WEEK 5)

Week 5, 21.02.2017


 

DSLR_EXPOSURE

Note: Camera used throughout this project is Nikon D5300 (18mm to 50mm).

 

What I learned:

  • Aperture: An opening through which light penetrates the lens of a camera.
  1. Measured in ‘f-stops’.
  2. The lowest f-stop (f/3.5) has a bigger opening whereas the highest f-stop (f/22) has a smaller opening.
  3. A lower f-stop has a higher exposure whereas a higher f-stop has a lower exposure.

 

  • Shutter speed: The amount of time that the shutter opens for light to pass through.
  1. Measured in seconds.
  2.  The fastest is at 1/1000 where it can freeze movement in a picture (e.g  a bird flapping its wings). The slowest is at 30″ where it can capture movement in a picture (e.g a speeding traffic on the highway).
  3. It is preferable to utilise a tripod to stabilise your camera if your shutter speed is set below 1/80.

 

  • ISO: Measures the sensitivity of the sensor to light in the camera, which works the same way in film photography.
  1. Lower ISO means less sensitivity to light and a finer grain. Higher ISO means more sensitivity to light and a poorer grain.
  2. Higher ISO is used in darker situations (e.g ISO 6400 at night) whereas lower ISO is used in places with greater exposure to light (e.g ISO 100 during the day)
  3. The normal setting is at ISO 100.

 

5_BEST_PHOTOS

We ventured around our campus to capture anything that looked minimal whilst applying the elements of exposure into it.

 

Processed with VSCO

 Aperture: f/22     

Shutter speed: 1/100    

ISO: 100

Although it is not utterly conspicuous, I like the depth of field here as I utilised a 55mm focal length and focused on the building on the left. This photo is underexposed because I wanted to attempt a gloomy vibe when in reality, the sky was exceedingly bright.

 

Processed with VSCO

 Aperture: f/8

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

The area was bright enough that I did not have to alter both the shutter speed and ISO, simply depending on the aperture itself. I like the way the diagonal and vertical lines come across each other and the different tones obtained in here.

 

Processed with VSCO

 Aperture: f/16

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

I wanted the view of the commercial block to be the main focus which was why I increased the aperture to match the brightness. With the ISO remaining at 100, the corridor is underexposed. Moreover, I like the water effect created by the reflection of the light on the uneven floor. The stretch of lights on the ceiling was an unintentional and additional touch.

 

Processed with VSCO

Aperture: f/8

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

This is a photo of a section of the emergency staircase on the 8th floor of Block E. It was a little too bright so I had to increase the aperture to f/8. The composition and the details captured by the camera mostly pique my interest.

 

Processed with VSCO

 Aperture: f/7.1

Shutter speed: 1/100

ISO: 100

I genuinely like the composition of my subject (Nafiz) and the contrast obtained between him and the white setting. As an additional touch, I cropped and increased the contrast so Nafiz could stand out in the picture. The picture below is the original.

 

Processed with VSCO

 


 

“Despite my fascination for minimal photography, it is still a struggle for me as attempting to find minimal elements and getting it rightfully aesthetic in a shot are excruciatingly frustrating. I also realised that a majority of my photos are intentionally underexposed and I am not that fond of overexposed photography in terms of the black and white effect. Maybe I do like it, and it’s just that I don’t like utilising it in conditions that seem dark. I shall practise in brighter situations.”

Leave a Reply

